Beauty & the Prince

Jeanfrançois Prins + guests Judy Niemack & Fred Hersch

Guitarist Jeanfrançois Prins has once again created a rich, multi-textured musical tapestry with a collection of grooving jazz standards, originals, and fusion tunes. The interaction between Prins and his band, each a world-renowned player in his own right, shows the intense listening and mutual inspiration felt by all. Note that he cut here the first guitar version of Jimmy Rowles’ magnificent melody “The Peacocks”

Judy Niemack appears as a guest vocalist on 8 tracks, and sails through tricky arrangements, scats like an angel, and delivers lyrics with heartfelt emotion.

Piano master Fred Hersch appears on 7 tracks, as brilliant and interactive as ever, whether weaving his luxuriant harmonies around Niemack’s voice or co-composing intricate fugue-like lines in real time with Prins.



Référence : GAM 916


  1. Meaning of the Blues (B.Troup/L.Worth)08:11
  2. The Blessing (Ornette Coleman)07:02
  3. Love Will Grow (Beauty and the Prince) (Jeanfrançois Prins/Judy Niemack)03:49
  4. Stolen moments (Oliver Nelson/Mark Murphy)05:13
  5. The Peacocks (Jimmy Rowles)10:14
  6. Three Views of a Secret (Jaco Pastorius)06:19
  7. Bjudyful (Jeanfrançois Prins)06:41
  8. I Think of You (Thinking of You) (Michel Herr/Judy Niemack)08:45
  9. Ladies in Mercedes (Steve Swallow/Norma Winstone)04:21
  10. Body and Soul (Green/Heyman/Sour/Eyton)05:56
  11. That’s What I Say (Jordu) (Duke Jordan/Judy Niemack)02:53
  12. Sojourn (Kirk Nurock)05:19
  13. Young Folks (Jeanfrançois Prins)02:27